Home Page

Mendell Primary School

Aspire, Challenge, Achieve

House Points

House Points

  • Mcgregor
  • Beckham
  • Deeley
  • Bunton


  • Foundation 1
  • Foundation 2
  • Year 1
  • Year 2
  • Year 3
  • Year 4
  • Year 5
  • Year 6


Last updated: January 2020

At Mendell, we strive to provide a curriculum that is rich in experience, excitement and challenge and one that prepares our children both for their next stage of learning at secondary school and for their life in modern Britain. 


Children in the Early Years' Classes (F1 and F2) follow the Early Years' Foundation Stage Framework, consisting of 7 areas of learning: Communication and Language; Personal, Social and Emotional Development; Physical Development; Literacy; Mathematics; Understanding the World; Expressive Arts and Design.


We use the National Curriculum programmes of study, set by the Government and updated in 2014, as the basis of our planning for children from Year 1 through to Year 6.


Each Year Group is working in pairs (Yr1 & Yr2, Yr3 & Yr4, Yr5 & Yr6) and each are following a two year rolling planning cycle.  These plans can be downloaded here:


Phonics and Reading


In Foundation Stage and Key Stage 1, phonics sessions take place every day for at least 20 minutes following the 'Letters and Sounds' scheme.  In order to address each child’s different needs teachers assess each child’s phonic and reading progress regularly. This allows children to be grouped according to their needs and ability so that effective, targeted teaching can be employed at each child’s level.  At the end of Year One all children are tested on their basic knowledge of phonics (initial sounds and blends). Children continue to work on elements of phonics until they are proficient through the rest of KS1 and KS2. Children who do not achieve the national standard in the Year One Phonics test will be re-tested at the end of Year Two. In key stage 2, we follow the 'Babcock' spelling scheme to teach spelling strategies. 
At Mendell all our early reading books are selected by either book bands or by assessment level within a range of different reading schemes that we use.  Currently, the school is using Oxford Reading Tree,  Rigby Star and a whole school online reading scheme ‘Bug Club’ by Pearson.  
To support the teaching of reading and writing, we use  'The Power of Reading' as a teaching resource across the school. All year groups follow this unique approach to text-based teaching to create fun and engaging English lessons for pupils. A wide range of teaching approaches are used, such as drama activates and cross curricular links. As the lessons are focused around good quality, age-appropriate books, this enables us to promote a love of reading and encourage our children to read for pleasure.

The National Curriculum combines both 'Core' and 'Foundation' subjects (for more information, click on each subject):


We also teach Personal, Social, Health and Economic Education to all children throughout the school and Philosophy for Children for children in Year 2 to 6.


Following the publication of the new National Curriculum in September 2014, our half termly themes combine local links, points/dates of special interest and national teaching and learning requirements enabling children both to engage with their learning and build upon prior knowledge.


If you would like further information on our curriculum, please do not hesitate to contact the school office.